Champagne Supernova

If you guys never heard of this song title, your life has been such a waste.
Just kidding.

But seriously, LOOK IT UP. It’s a song by Oasis, and it’s one of my personal favorite. It’s a(n epic) 7-minutes long. It’s in the album (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?. I could spend a half an hour laying in my bed, doing nothing, just listening this song on repeat. This song has all the emotion, you know, you could get overly excited upon hearing the flowing-water-like intro and the guitar solo. You could even cry under no reason. Or perhaps that’s just me.

I have just made a perfect ending to my day by gazing at the sunset – which is exceptionally beautiful today, as a matter of fact. It was enormous, with its edges clearly seen, some part of its dimming orange light covered with purplish clouds – with this song as the background. Or the other way around, doesn’t matter, still epic.

The lyrics is somewhat absurd.

How many special people change, how many lives are living strange? Where were you while we were getting high?

Perhaps it is my limited sense of understanding figures of speech or poetry, but I find it absurd. Its writer, Noel Gallagher, also the guitarist of the band, even stated in an interview back in 2009 that “…I don’t fucking know (about the exact meaning of the lyrics). But are you telling me, when you’ve got 60,000 people singing it, they don’t know what it means? It means something different to every one of them.” Words, Mr. Gallagher, words.

So, what are you waiting for? Go check the song!

Oh, p.s.: a real supernova in 2003 was named after the song.

You know it’s a good song when an astronomical event is named after it. Don’t waste another second.

2 comments
  1. Indeed.
    “I could spend a half an hour laying in my bed, doing nothing, just listening this song on repeat.” –> thanks God, I’m not the only one..
    Nice post about the song 🙂

Leave a Reply

