Cahya Tries to Talk Arts.

I have no background in Arts, I can’t even draw a proper straight line, I can’t see why Monalisa’s smile is considered the most mysterious, I just knew how to properly use a cutter in high school, and whenever I tried to help my artistic friends with their works, I ended up receiving stares or sighs, but I would like to post these magnificent work of arts I found in the National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

Here is a picture of me and three other lovely ladies in the stairs of National Gallery of Arts, February 21st, 2012. We came here unplanned. Oh, anyway none of us there has an Arts background – the girl with the MIT sweater is a bright mechanical engineering student, the one with a hijab is an Engineering Management student, the cute little girl on the right wearing a Paddington-Bear-like coat is from Mathematics major, and I, that girl with the black coat definitely has no artistic sense running on my vein, if the first lines in this post didn’t elaborate enough.

We entered the National Gallery of Arts because it’s the nearest to the US Capitol, where we were heading to later that afternoon. We have made a group booking for 13.00 for the US Capitol tour and it was still 11.00, so, why spend a fine morning thousands of miles away from your home curled up in your blanket? *lirik cowok-cowok*

So unknowingly, we entered the National Gallery of Arts.

The Hallway

Entering the gallery, you will find yourself standing in front of huge pillars, with fountain in the center, surrounded by flowers, and decorated with an elegant display of light. The gallery is then divided into two main wings.

First gallery I entered was the Middle-Ages, whose arts are from the year 1100-1400ish.

The leftmost artwork is “The Coronation of The Virgin” by Paolo Veneziano from the year 1324. What amazed me the most from this section of the gallery is the preservation and the colors. The color is so vivid, although the painting is hundreds years old. Mostly, the media is tempera on panel (although I have little knowledge of what it means). The artworks are heavily influenced by the Bible.

The Garden

I don’t know the exact name for this part of the gallery, but there’s this little garden in the middle of the building. In the center of the garden is an artwork by Jean-Baptiste Tuby I with the title “Cherubs Playing with a Swan”.

The Gallery

I am not so sure about the era of this set. But it’s under the same age and same style. I adore the expressions depicted in the paintings.

Unfortunately I forgot to note the artist behind this painting. Look at the details! Don’t you want to take a bite?

A tour guide explaining to visitors about Rubens’s “Daniel in the Lions’ Den”

The artwork’s location gives more chills.

Monet!

Favorite artwork of the gallery. So strong. It’s as if I could hear their screams, sounds of the ocean hitting the rocks, and creaks of the sinking ship.

Conclusion: perhaps going to an art gallery isn’t the best nor the funnest choice for me – I remember going to the Monet gallery and listened to a guide’s explanation of the uniqueness of the color blue used in the painting and how the arrangements of objects emphasized the baby in the center of the painting, and realized I have a very, very limited understanding and interest at these things – but, once in a while, going to places like this is interesting! After all, going random is one of the most interesting activity, no?

2 comments
    • C said:

      *kemudian pundung lagi*

Leave a Reply

