About Judging People.

A while back, I had this talk with two good friends of mine. I was busy gossiping someone else and these two guys responded promptly, with often funny remarks and stupid comments. The three of us continued until we fell in an uncomfortable silence – each of us knowing that we’ve commented far too harshly and mean.

At this moment, my friend came up with a (sort of) wise saying that slapped me hard right on the face: “over all the judgments and thoughts about her, you should realize that she’s not as lucky as you, learning life lessons that direct you away from being what she is today.”

Or some sort.

The point is, at that moment I realize that whenever I judge someone, I don’t know what he’s been through.

This poor fellow does not have the chance to choose what condition he will fall into. He does not choose which family he is born in. He does not choose which people he meet. His good, wealthy life doesn’t enable him to suffer and learn from it. His poor life doesn’t enable him to see the world as vast as others do. Yet, he does not choose which state of wealth he falls into.

I came to the conclusion that I can’t see people and judge them by a single standard. I came to the conclusion that each of us has different life, different mind, viewpoints, and that these different things are to be respected, not to be judged by a single mindset and perspective.

Yet to live at peace, not blindly judging people is one hell of a thing to achieve.

Leave a Reply

