On 2016 Reading Commitments

Ever since middle school, I’ve always responded “reading!” excitedly when asked what my hobby is. This is true, as I found reading as a means to escape daily routine and be immersed in an entirely different world (I’m a hardcore fictions reader, mind you), despite how cliche it may sound.

However, some reality check. Ever since the boom of articles and “10 most [insert a random adjective here] [insert a random category here]” lists on the net, I have to admit that I haven’t been reading as much — in fact, the amount of books I read in 2015 can be counted with my one hand only.

Having realized the importance of reading to enrich your mind in a deep and thorough manner (something the bite-size internet articles are not able to offer), as well as training your brain on how to effectively deliver messages, I have committed myself to read more this year, be it fiction or non-fiction books.

I set my goals realistic: at least one book per month. I don’t assign a specific genre or ratio of fictions & non-fictions. For a start I just need to read. Period.

So far, entering the month of May this week, I have read four books and currently reading a fifth one, targeting it to be finished by this week! It’s a small number, but it keeps the wheel turning.

This is going to be the list of books I read over the year, and this post will be continuously updated throughout.

  1. Ronggeng Dukuh Paruk – Ahmad Tohari
  2. Lean In for Graduates – Sheryl Sandberg
  3. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
  4. Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn
  5. Dark Places – Gillian Flynn
  6. Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell
  7. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling
  8. Feminist Fight Club – Jessica Bennett
  9. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell

P.S: I will also post a review/post-reading note/reflection in separate posts

1 comment

Leave a Reply

